0

Welcome to the Society for Arts and Technology

Discover the SAT

Since its creation in 1996, the SAT has been dedicated to the development of digital culture. It is the only place in Montreal (and probably in the world) to bring together under one roof an immersive theater (Satosphere), a research laboratory, a training center, a venue, a café and a restaurant.

03

Satosphere

The Satosphere is the first immersive theater dedicated to artistic creation. It forms a spherical projection screen that invites artists to explore new conceptual territories. With its dome 18 meters in diameter and 13 meters high, its 8 video projectors and its 157 loudspeakers, the Satosphere places the public at the heart of the audiovisual experience.

02

Foodlab

The SAT’s gastronomic experience. Culinary creations elaborated in open kitchens celebrate local Quebec products. Reservations available for groups.

01

Metalab

Metalab is the research and development laboratory of the SAT. Its mission is twofold: to stimulate the emergence of innovative immersive experiences and to make their design accessible to immersion artists through an ecosystem of open-source software.

00

SAT Space

An avant-garde urban space open to artists, organizations and promoters for the presentation of innovative and original projects in music and digital art.

-01

SAT Campus

With an educational model at the crossroads of technology and art, the SAT offers a program of evening classes and training for adults, as well as creative workshops and day camps for kids and teens.

-01

Artist’s residency

The creation program at the SAT helps bring out new forms of digital creativity. The artists in residence benefit from artistic and technical support, in addition to the equipment of the SAT. Since its foundation, more than 180 immersive works have been created at the SAT.

Open Call for Projects for our 2023 Residency Program!

This call is aimed at artists and artist collectives in the media arts, all disciplines combined, whose work is in line with our research perspectives, and aims to select the projects that will be hosted in residence by our teams from 2023.
Learn More

Innovation

Metalab, centre de R&D

Metalab R&D

The Metalab has a dual mission: to stimulate the emergence of new immersive experiences, and to make their design and authoring accessible to artists and creators through an ecosystem of open source software.
Satellite, espace virtuel de la SAT

Satellite virtual space

SAT’s virtual space Satellite is an immersive 3D social web environment that offers a new way of creating and showcasing virtual experiences.

Rent the SAT for your events

The SAT provides artists, artist collectives, associations and private companies with a multipurpose space available for rent.

0

Bienvenue à la Société des arts technologiques

Découvrir la SAT

Depuis sa création en 1996, la SAT se dévoue au développement de la culture numérique. C'est un laboratoire créatif ouvert à tous les publics et à toutes les communautés. C’est le seul lieu à Montréal (et probablement au monde) à réunir sous un même toit un théâtre immersif (Satosphère), un laboratoire de recherche, un centre de formation, une salle de concerts, un café et un restaurant.

03

Satosphère

Premier théâtre immersif dédié à la création artistique, la Satosphère forme un écran de projection sphérique qui invite à l'exploration de nouveaux territoires conceptuels. Avec son dôme de 18 mètres de diamètre et 13 mètres de hauteur, ses 8 projecteurs vidéo et ses 157 haut-parleurs, la Satosphère place le public au cœur de l'expérience audiovisuelle.

02

Labo Culinaire

L'expérience gastronomique de la SAT. Les produits québécois sont mis à l’honneur par les créations culinaires qui se développent dans les cuisines ouvertes à la vue du public.

01

Metalab

Le Metalab développe les programmes de recherche de la SAT autour de l'immersion, la téléprésence, le mapping vidéo et le son spatialisé. La mission du Metalab est double: stimuler l'émergence d'expériences immersives innovantes et rendre leur conception accessible à travers un écosystème de logiciels libres.

00

Espace SAT

Lieu urbain d’avant-garde ouvert aux artistes, organismes et promoteurs pour la diffusion de projets novateurs et originaux en art numérique, la SAT met à disposition un espace au design épuré et industriel, à configuration variable et doté d’un important parc d'équipements

-01

Formations

Avec un modèle pédagogique à la croisée des technologies et de l'art, la SAT propose un programme de cours du soir et de formations pour les adultes, ainsi que des ateliers créatifs et des camps de jour destinés au jeune public.

-01

Résidences d’artistes

Le programme de création à la SAT contribue à faire apparaître de nouvelles formes de créativité numérique. Les artistes en résidence bénéficient d’un accompagnement artistique et technique, en plus des équipements de la SAT. Depuis sa fondation, plus de 180 oeuvres immersives ont été créées à la SAT.

L'appel de projets en résidences 2023 est ouvert pour les artistes

Cet appel s’adresse aux artistes et collectifs d’artistes en arts médiatiques, toutes disciplines confondues, dont le travail s’inscrit dans nos perspectives de recherche, et vise à sélectionner les projets qui seront accueillis en résidence par nos équipes dès 2023.
En savoir plus

À découvrir

Metalab, centre de R&D

Le Metalab, laboratoire R&D

Le Metalab développe les programmes de recherche de la SAT autour de l'immersion, la téléprésence, le mapping vidéo et le son spatialisé. La mission du Metalab est double: stimuler l'émergence d'expériences immersives innovantes et rendre leur conception accessible à travers un écosystème de logiciels libres.
Satellite, espace virtuel de la SAT

Satellite, espace virtuel

L'espace virtuel de la SAT est un environnement web social 3D immersif qui offre une nouvelle façon de créer et de diffuser des expériences virtuelles et hybrides.
La SAT, 25 ans de créativité et d'innovations
11 oct. 2022
Formation
Obtenez une formation gratuite grâce aux Bourses Desjardins
11 oct. 2022
Satellite, le métavers de la SAT
23 juin 2022
Innovation
SORTIE DE RÉSIDENCES METALAB
20 juil. 2022

Louer la SAT pour vos événements

La SAT met à la disposition des artistes, collectifs d’artistes et des organisations un espace polyvalent disponible en location.