0

Metalab

Research & Development Lab

Fisheye view of metalab studios
METALAB
PROJECTS
Publications
Team and Partners

The Metalab, 20 years of innovation

Formed in 2002, Metalab is the research and development laboratory of the Society for Arts and Technology. Its mission is twofold: to stimulate the emergence of innovative immersive experiences and to make their design accessible to immersion artists through an ecosystem of open-source software.

Immersion, telepresence, video mapping and spatialized sound

Metalab's research programs are developed around the themes of telepresence, immersion, video mapping and spatialized sound. Like the rest of the SAT, the Metalab brings together residency program participants with diverse backgrounds and expertise, particularly in embedded systems, acoustics, computer science or deep learning. The projects developed here are often carried out in collaboration with artists and university research laboratories throughout Quebec and other locations abroad. These partnerships bring related knowledge and are at the origin of innovative digital practices.
Collaborer avec le Metalab

Research Programs

Reproducible and durable hybrid teleimmersion

This program aims to democratize teleimmersive technologies through the design and implementation of prototypes of hybrid teleimmersive experiences, that is to say allowing remote and in-person participation. It will also make it possible to explore the question of the conservation and reproducibility of these experiments.

Multisensory augmentation for social immersion

The objective of this program is to facilitate the creation of immersive and collective experiences that activate multiple senses. The multisensory augmentation of places allows for visible and audible virtual elements to interact with the participants. By designing and implementing prototypes of immersive spaces, this program will contribute to improving multidisciplinary creation processes.

An open-source software ecosystem

Metalab’s open-source software ecosystem aims to cover the entire production of distributed immersive content. This ecosystem supports Metalab’s research work as well as its partnerships. Developed with a view to sustainability, this scalable software involves video mapping, sound spatialization, group interaction as well as low-latency network transmission. All this software is made available to the general public under a free license.

→ Demonstration of our tools

Projects

New methods for broadcasting music with the OSM

This research project frames work on the creation of immersive high-fidelity sound experiences. During the previous SAV+R research program (2019-2022), the Montreal Symphony Orchestra (OSM) and Metalab developed and implemented new methods for capturing, processing and broadcasting pre-recorded symphonic music , allowing the listener to move around the orchestra, changing their listening perspective.

Residencies

The projects presented below are the result of creative research residencies aimed at exploring different artistic use cases around the technologies developed by Metalab.

Marie LeBlanc Flanagan

ComeWithMe

Who has never felt alone? ComeWithMe is a playful virtual exploration of the spaces between people. The installation translates the physical movements of “real world” individuals into a strange virtual world of animated sculptural forms and movements. Using a camera, AI-based body sensing (LivePose), spotlights and sound, ComeWithMe explores how we get closer to each other, connect and, sometimes, fail to connect with the people around us. Come with friends or make new ones!

Louis-Olivier Desmarais

PAX

PAX is a contemplative installation using several loudspeakers. An invitation to celebrate listening (in every sense of the word), meditation and contemplation in the form of immersion in the spirit and silence of a Benedictine abbey in the heart of downtown Montreal. Combining visual arts, lighting and spatialized music, presented exclusively using and the Audiodice sound system developed by Metalab which will be combined with traditional loudspeakers.

Samuel Thulin

Sweet Immersion

An immersive audio exploration created from data collected by the artist as a type 1 diabetic. This data directs the soundscapes and musical progression of the piece on multiple levels, from the micro-temporal scale to macro structural development. Through this systematic but not scientifically rational "sonification", the installation turns away from the usual biomedical orientation in the face of health data. She tries to convey the intertwined and non-linear temporalities of a body and invites listeners to explore the resulting metabolic sound space.

Guillaume Coulombe & Nina Parenteau

Podorythmie sensible

The "Ta ka boum - Ta ka boum" of tradition is unique among world music. Nina Parenteau and Guillaume Coulombe explore various technologies developed by the SAT's Metalab to artistically represent foot rhythm in traditional Quebec music. Their interactive installation presents effects of spatialization of image and sound, on three projection surfaces and with four loudspeakers. These effects were animated by their new multimedia foot rhythm board, as well as by a camera used with skeletal recognition software.

Charlie Leroy & Sébastien Samyn

Perspectives

Perspectives is an interactive multimedia installation that mixes art and technology to immerse us in a space where we, individually and collectively, have an influence. By playing with the principles of anamorphosis, AI selects detection and perspective games which encourages participants to adapt the content of the work according to their point of view. But what happens when several people are present? What social dynamics emerge? To what extent does the installation and, more broadly, the technology influence behaviors?

Équipe gagnante du Hacklab 2021

Percepto

For the ‘Technologies de la Fête’, a series of interfaces for electronic music was created. The Percepto team experimented with medical technologies, such as bio-sensors, in order to create physical interfaces, allowing people with disabilities to join the party by amplifying the sounds of movement. The project hopes to encourage empathy by listening to micro-movements, intentions and sound sources captured in the city.

Motus Domum

An immersive hybrid show

Motus Domum is a project in residence in the dome in collaboration with the research and creation teams of the SAT. The video documents a prototype device for an immersive hybrid dance and music show combining performers and audience on site and remotely. The concept developed during the residency will be used in subsequent development and creative efforts for the production of the artistic experience Motus Domum.

Design, Music, Technology: Zack Settel
Design & Dance: Peter Trosztmer
Design & Technology: Osman Zeki
Dance: Alida
Read more

Publications

2022. Taylor & Francis
The Effects of Interactivity on Learners' Experience in a Visually Immersive Display Context.
Salame, Y.; Léger, P.; Charland, P.; Merveilleux Du Vignaux, M.; Durand, E.; Bouillot, N.; Pardoen, M.; Deslandes-Martineau, M.; and Sénécal, S.
2022. Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts
Two datasets of room impulse responses for navigation in 6~degrees of freedom: a symphonic concert hall and a former planetarium.
Piquet, T.; Teyssier, H.; Ouellet-Delorme, É.; Duée, R.; and Bouillot, N. In 25th International Conference on Digital Audio Effects DAFx20, pages pp. 169-176,
2021. Computers in the Schools, Interdisciplinary Journal of Practice, Theory, and Applied Research
Riding through history: The effects of interactivity in learners' experience in a visually immersive display context (submitted).
Salame, Y.; Vignaux, M. M. D.; Charland, P.; Durand, E.; Bouillot, N.; Léger, P.; and Pardoen, M.
2021. 18th Sound and Music Computing Conference
Building Navigable Listening Experiences Based on Spatial Soundfield Capture
Zack Settel, Jean-Yves Munch, Gabriel Downs, Nicolas Bouillot
2021. 18th Sound and Music Computing Conference
Live Ray Tracing and Auralization of 3D Audio Scenes with vaRays
Émile Ouellet-Delorme, Harish Venkatesan, Emmanuel Durand, Nicolas Bouillot
2021. Multimodal Technologies and Interaction
An exploratory study on the impact of collective immersion on learning and learning experience
M. Merveilleux Du Vignaux, P-M.Léger, P. Charland, Y. Salame, E. Durand, N. Bouillot, M. Pardoen, S. Sénécal

All Metalab publications can be consulted in BibTex format.

Team and Partners

The Metalab team is made of developers, researchers and integrators, who work with professors, students, other researchers and research contractors. Our partners include artists, university research laboratories, schools, designers and industries. The expertise provided by these partners within the research programs help overall to enrich Metalab.

Research team

  • Alexandra Marin
  • Bruno Colpron
  • Christian Frisson
  • Édith Viau
  • Eduardo Meneses
  • Émile Ouellet-Delorme
  • Emmanuel Durand (co-director)
  • Michal Seta
  • Nicolas Bouilllot (co-director)
  • Thomas Piquet
  • Zack Settel

 

The work of the Metalab is examined by the scientific committee of the SAT:

  • François Borrelli: General Manager TechnoMontréal and Founding President of OblikMind
  • Jacques de Guise: Director of the Imaging and Orthopedics Research Laboratory (LIO). ÉTS and CR-CHUM
  • Wissem Maazoun: Director of Innovation, Partnership and Development of the Advanced Analytics Practice at Desjardins Group

News

Events
Thanks to Desjardins, scholarship are available to fund your tuition.
Oct 13, 2022
Events
25 years of creativity and innovation at the SAT
Oct 13, 2022

Contact us

Feel free to contact the METALAB team with any questions.

0

Metalab

Laboratoire de recherche et développement

Fisheye view of metalab studios
METALAB
PROJETS
PUBLICATIONS
Équipe et partenaires

Le Metalab, 20 ans d'innovation

Formé en 2002, le Metalab est le laboratoire de recherche et développement de la Société des arts technologiques. Sa mission est double : stimuler l’émergence d’expériences immersives innovantes et rendre leur conception accessible aux artistes de l’immersion à travers un écosystème de logiciels libres.

Immersion collective, téléprésence, mapping vidéo, spatialisation sonore et interactivité

Avec ses expertises en son spatialisé, acoustique, synthèse sonore, mapping vidéo, systèmes embarqués et apprentissage machine, le Metalab explore l'immersion collective et la téléprésence à travers ses programmes de recherche. Les travaux de recherche sont réalisés en collaboration avec des artistes, des organismes culturels, des entreprises et des laboratoires de recherche universitaires au Québec et à l'international.
Voir les projets

Programmes de recherche

Téléimmersion hybride, reproductible et durable

Ce programme vise à démocratiser les technologies téléimmersives par la conception et la mise en oeuvre de prototypes d'expériences téléimmersives hybrides, c'est-à-dire permettant la participation à distance et en personne. Il permettra d'explorer également la question de la conservation et de la reproductibilité de ces expériences.

Augmentation multisensorielle d'espaces pour l'immersion sociale

La vocation de ce programme est de faciliter la création d'expériences immersives et collectives activant de multiples sens. L'augmentation multisensorielle des lieux permet de rendre visible et audible des éléments virtuels pouvant interagir avec les personnes participantes. Par la conception et la mise en oeuvre de prototypes d'espaces immersifs, ce programme contribuera à l'amélioration des processus de création pluridisciplinaires.

Un écosystème de logiciels libres

L’écosystème de logiciels libres du Metalab vise à couvrir l’intégralité de la production de contenu immersif distribué. Cet écosystème soutient les travaux de recherche du Metalab ainsi que ses partenariats. Développés dans une perspective de pérennité, ces logiciels évolutifs touchent au mapping vidéo, à la spatialisation sonore, à l’interaction de groupe ainsi qu’à la transmission basse latence en réseau. Tous ces logiciels sont mis à la disposition du grand public, et ce, sous licence libre.

Démonstration de nos outils

Projets

Nouvelles méthodes de diffusion avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Ce projet de recherche encadre des travaux sur la création d'expériences immersives sonores à haute fidélité. Durant le précédent programme de recherche SAV+R (2019-2022), l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) et le Metalab ont élaboré et mis en oeuvre de nouvelles méthodes de captation, de traitement et de diffusion de musique symphonique pré-enregistrée, permettant à l'auditeur·ice de se déplacer dans l'orchestre, changeant ainsi sa perspective d'écoute.
En savoir plus

Résidences

Les projets présentés sont issus de résidences de recherche création visant à explorer différents cas d'usage artistiques autour des technologies développées par le Metalab.

Marie LeBlanc Flanagan

ComeWithMe

Qui ne s’est jamais senti seul ? ComeWithMe est une exploration virtuelle ludique des espaces entre les personnes. L’installation traduit les mouvements physiques des individus du « monde réel » en un étrange monde virtuel de formes sculpturales animées et de mouvements. À l'aide d'une caméra, d'une détection corporelle basée sur l'intelligence artificielle (LivePose), de projecteurs et de sons, ComeWithMe explore la manière dont nous nous rapprochons les uns des autres, nous nous connectons et, parfois, nous échouons à nous connecter avec les personnes qui nous entourent.

Louis-Olivier Desmarais

PAX

PAX est une installation contemplative sur plusieurs haut-parleurs. Une invitation à célébrer l’écoute (dans tous les sens du terme), le recueillement et la contemplation sous forme d'une immersion dans l’esprit et le silence d’une abbaye bénédictine en plein centre-ville de Montréal. Combinant arts visuels, éclairages et musiques spatialisées, elle utilise le système de son Audiodice développé par le Metalab, combiné à des haut-parleurs traditionnels.

Samuel Thulin

Sweet Immersion

Une exploration audio immersive créée à partir des données collectées par l'artiste en tant que diabétique de type 1. Ces données dirigent les sonorités et la progression musicale de la pièce à de multiples niveaux, de l’échelle temporelle micro au développement structurel macro. À travers cette « sonification » systématique mais non scientifiquement rationnelle, l'installation se détourne de l’orientation biomédicale usuelle face aux données de santé. Elle tente de transmettre les temporalités entrelacées et non linéaires d'un corps et invite les auditeurs et les auditrices à explorer l'espace sonore métabolique qui en résulte.

Guillaume Coulombe & Nina Parenteau

Podorythmie sensible

Le «Ta ka boum - Ta ka boum» du trad est unique parmi les musiques du monde. Nina Parenteau et Guillaume Coulombe explorent diverses technologies développées par le Metalab de la SAT pour représenter artistiquement la podorythmie en musique traditionnelle québécoise. Leur installation interactive présentera des effets de spatialisation de l’image et du son, sur trois surfaces de projection et avec quatre hauts-parleurs. Ces effets seront animés par leur nouvelle planche de podorythmie multimédia, de même que par une caméra utilisée avec un logiciel de reconnaissance squelettique.

Charlie Leroy & Sébastien Samyn

Perspectives

Perspectives est une installation multimédia interactive qui mêle art et technologie pour nous immerger dans un espace où nous avons, individuellement et collectivement, une influence. En jouant avec les principes de l'anamorphose, la détection de pose AI et les jeux de perspectives, l'installation permet d’adapter le contenu de l'œuvre selon son point de vue. Mais que se passe-t-il lorsque plusieurs personnes sont présentes ? Quelles dynamiques sociales émergent ? À quel point l'installation et, plus largement, la technologie viennent-elles influencer ces comportements ?

Équipe gagnante du Hacklab 2021

Percepto

À partir des Technologies de la fête, une série d’interfaces pour la musique électronique, l’équipe Percepto a tenté de se jouer des technologies médicales telles que des bio-senseurs afin de créer des interfaces physiques permettant à des personnes en situation de handicap de se joindre à la fête en amplifiant avec empathie et écoute des micros-mouvements, intentions et sources sonores captées dans la ville.

Motus Domum

Un spectacle immersif hybride

Motus Domum est un projet en résidence dans le dôme en collaboration avec les équipes de recherche et de création de la SAT. La vidéo documente un prototype de dispositif pour un spectacle immersif hybride de danse et musique combinant interprètes et audience sur place et à distance. Le concept élaboré pendant la résidence va servir aux efforts de développement et de création subséquents pour la production de l'expérience artistique Motus Domum, dont la diffusion est prévue en 2023. Conception, Musique, Technologie: Zack Settel Conception & Danse: Peter Trosztmer Conception & Technologie: Osman Zeki Danse: Alida
En savoir plus

Publications

2022. Taylor & Francis
The Effects of Interactivity on Learners' Experience in a Visually Immersive Display Context.
Salame, Y.; Léger, P.; Charland, P.; Merveilleux Du Vignaux, M.; Durand, E.; Bouillot, N.; Pardoen, M.; Deslandes-Martineau, M.; and Sénécal, S.
2022. Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts
Two datasets of room impulse responses for navigation in 6~degrees of freedom: a symphonic concert hall and a former planetarium.
Piquet, T.; Teyssier, H.; Ouellet-Delorme, É.; Duée, R.; and Bouillot, N. In 25th International Conference on Digital Audio Effects DAFx20, pages pp. 169-176,
2021. Computers in the Schools, Interdisciplinary Journal of Practice, Theory, and Applied Research
Riding through history: The effects of interactivity in learners' experience in a visually immersive display context (submitted).
Salame, Y.; Vignaux, M. M. D.; Charland, P.; Durand, E.; Bouillot, N.; Léger, P.; and Pardoen, M.
2021. 18th Sound and Music Computing Conference
Building Navigable Listening Experiences Based on Spatial Soundfield Capture
Zack Settel, Jean-Yves Munch, Gabriel Downs, Nicolas Bouillot
2021. 18th Sound and Music Computing Conference
Live Ray Tracing and Auralization of 3D Audio Scenes with vaRays
Émile Ouellet-Delorme, Harish Venkatesan, Emmanuel Durand, Nicolas Bouillot
2021. Multimodal Technologies and Interaction
An exploratory study on the impact of collective immersion on learning and learning experience
M. Merveilleux Du Vignaux, P-M.Léger, P. Charland, Y. Salame, E. Durand, N. Bouillot, M. Pardoen, S. Sénécal

L’ensemble des publications du Metalab peut être consultée au format BibTex.

Équipe et partenaires

L’équipe du Metalab est composée de développeur·se·s, de chercheur·se·s et d’intégrateur·ice·s, auxquels s’associent des professeur·e·s, des étudiant·e·s, des chercheur·se·s et des contractuel·le·s de recherche. Nos partenaires comptent notamment des artistes, des laboratoires de recherche universitaires, des écoles, des designers et des industriels. Les expertises apportées par ces partenaires au sein des programmes de recherches enrichissent celles du Metalab.

Équipe de recherche

  • Alexandra Marin
  • Bruno Colpron
  • Christian Frisson
  • Édith Viau
  • Eduardo Meneses
  • Émile Ouellet-Delorme
  • Emmanuel Durand (codirecteur)
  • Michal Seta
  • Nicolas Bouilllot (codirecteur)
  • Thomas Piquet
  • Zack Settel

 

Les travaux du Metalab sont examinés par le comité scientifique de la SAT :

  • François Borrelli : Directeur Général TechnoMontréal et Président-fondateur de OblikMind
  • Jacques de Guise : Directeur du Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie (LIO). ÉTS et CR-CHUM
  • Wissem Maazoun : Directeur de l’innovation, partenariat et développement de la pratique d’analytique avancée au Mouvement Desjardins
Partenaires

Actualités

Innovation
SORTIE DE RÉSIDENCES METALAB
20 juil. 2022
Satellite, le métavers de la SAT
23 juin 2022
Innovation
Le Metalab vous invite à son bureau virtuel
25 avr. 2022
Artistes en résidence
Lancement de la plateforme web Scenic
24 mars 2022

Nous contacter

N'hésitez pas à contacter l'équipe du METALAB pour toute question.

Par téléphone